Blacksmith Experience Day

Spend a day in our working Victorian forge

Chiltern Open Air Museum Blacksmith Experience Day

Blacksmith Experience Day in Garston forge

Location: Garston Forge
Length of workshop: 4 to 5 hours
Start time of workshop: 10.30 – 3.30
Number of participants: 2
Minimum age of participants: 18 years

Our Blacksmith Experience Days take place in our Victorian forge and are led by our experienced blacksmiths. You will learn the skills and basic techniques of the traditional blacksmith and make your own simple hand-forged object to take home. You will be shown how the forge works and will use an anvil, in what will be an extremely enjoyable yet physical experience. No previous experience is necessary.

What is included:

  • Entrance into the Museum
  • Tuition from an experienced blacksmith
  • All materials
  • Safety equipment
  • Tea and coffee

Please bring your own packed lunch or purchase a light lunch in the Furniture Factory Tea Rooms (please note our tea room will be closed November-March).

Garston Forge

Prices

£120 for one person
£180 for two people booking on the same day (maximum two per day).

Available 2017 Dates

Saturday 1st April: 1 place available
Sunday 2nd April: SOLD OUT
Wednesday 12th April:
SOLD OUT
Thursday 13th April: 2 places available
Saturday 22nd April: SOLD OUT
Sunday 23rd April: SOLD OUT
Saturday 29th April: SOLD OUT
Friday 5th May: 2 places available
Saturday 6th May:
SOLD OUT
Sunday 7th May:
SOLD OUT
Saturday 13th May:
 SOLD OUT
Sunday 14th May:
SOLD OUT
Saturday 3rd June:
1 place available
Sunday 4th June: SOLD OUT

Saturday 1st July: SOLD OUT

Sunday 2nd July: SOLD OUT

Saturday 5th August: 1 place available
Sunday 6th August:
SOLD OUT
Saturday 2nd September: SOLD OUT
Sunday 3rd September:
2 places available

To book one of the above dates please purchase your gift experience voucher via our online shop and then email Sarah at enquiries@coam.org.uk with your preferred date.

Terms and Conditions

Practical points:

  • Please wear clothes made from natural materials, long trousers and long sleeves
  • Please wear leather, closed fronted shoes or boots
  • Apron, gloves and safety glasses will be provided.

Blacksmith experience day

Selected images by Charles Abbott.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save