Blacksmith Experience Day

Spend a day in our working Victorian forge

Chiltern Open Air Museum Blacksmith Experience Day

Blacksmith Experience Day in Garston Forge

Location: Garston Forge
Length of workshop: 4 to 5 hours
Start time of workshop: 10.30 – 3.30
Number of participants: 2
Minimum age of participants: 18 years

Our Blacksmith Experience Days take place in our Victorian forge and are led by our experienced blacksmiths. You will learn the skills and basic techniques of the traditional blacksmith and make your own simple hand-forged object to take home. You will be shown how the forge works and will use an anvil, in what will be an extremely enjoyable yet physical experience. No previous experience is necessary.

What is included:

  • Entrance into the Museum
  • Tuition from an experienced blacksmith
  • All materials
  • Safety equipment
  • Tea and coffee

Please bring your own packed lunch or purchase a light lunch in the Furniture Factory Tea Rooms (please note our tea room will be closed November-March).

Garston Forge

Prices

£140 for one person
£240 for two people booking on the same day (maximum two per day).

Available 2018 Dates:

Saturday 28th April – SOLD OUT
Saturday 12th May – SOLD OUT
Sunday 20th May – Only 1 place available
Saturday 26th May – Only 1 place available
Sunday 27th May – Only 1 place available
Saturday 9th June – SOLD OUT
Sunday 10th June – Available
Wednesday 20th June – SOLD OUT
Thursday 21st June – Available
Friday 22nd June – Available
Saturday 23rd June – SOLD OUT
Wednesday 8th August – Available
Friday 10th August – Available
Tuesday 28th August – Available
Saturday 8th September – SOLD OUT
Sunday 9th September – Available
Saturday 6th October – SOLD OUT
Sunday 7th October – SOLD OUT

To book one of the above dates please purchase your gift experience voucher via our online shop and then email Sarah at experiencedays@coam.org.uk for further information.

Terms and Conditions

Practical points:

  • Please wear clothes made from natural materials, long trousers and long sleeves
  • Please wear leather, closed fronted shoes or boots
  • Apron, gloves and safety glasses will be provided.

Blacksmith experience day

Selected images by Charles Abbott.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save